Settings, Profile and Dashboard
Updating your Mahara profile
Every member of staff and student has their own Mahara personal profile page. Your profile can be updated with information including your profile picture, contact details, social media profile links and much more. You can choose who you share this information with. By default your profile page is only visible to those logged in to Mahara but you can make it publicly visible.
To start updating your profile, follow the instructions in this Mahara guide: 8.2. Profile — Mahara 23.04 manual
Navigating your dashboard
The Dashboard screen contains numerous navigation areas. Click on the purple icons in the image below to learn more.
For a more in-depth look at the dashboard, please see this Mahara guide: 3. Dashboard — Mahara 26.04 manual
Editing your dashboard
By clicking on the Profile, and choose "Dashboard" under "Personalise" option, you will be taken into the edit screen for your dashboard. From this screen, you can add and remove blocks and personalise your dashboard.
.png)
Please note: Any blocks deleted from your dashboard can be added back to the dashboard at a later time.
To add a block you have deleted, click on the plus icon on the right-hand side to add a new block. Search the content types for the block you want to add.
.png)
Commonly used blocks on the dashboard:
- Inbox
- My portfolios
- Portfolios shared with me
- Topics I am following
Notifications, messaging and the inbox
You can go the top right hand side inbox, you can see a message indicator icon, it tells you how many unread messages you have.
.png?1784107942856)
-
Compose: You can also write a message to one or more people by selecting the Compose button.
-
Search: Enter a search term into the search box and select the Go button to search your notifications. Once you have your search results, you can filter them by:
-
From: Sender of the notification
-
Subject: Subject line of the notification
-
Message: Text in the notification
-
To: Recipient of the notification
-
.png?1784108137558)
Choose from the Bulk actions drop-down menu what you want to do with all selected messages.
-
Mark as read: Mark selected messages as having been read.
-
Delete: Delete selected messages.
-
Delete all notifications: Delete all messages in your inbox no matter whether they’ve been selected or not.
